Page 1 of 4
Body work and Paint \  waterborne paint

waterborne paint

Body work and Paint Q & A
views 3257
replies 34
following 17

Shane S   +1y
Does anyone else hate this stuff as much as I do? Im a painter at a Chevrolet and Cadillac dealership and we switched ten months ago. We're thinking about switching back to solvent. Just curious what everyone else thinks about it?
needekhatch   +1y
Witch one is ur shop using
I'm ppg certified and have used the enviro base and at first it took alot to get used to
what gun do u use
I used a iwata lph 400 that I used when I sprayed waterbourn but perfer a wsbsata 3000
but the shop supplied the iwata when they switched over
laynon22s   +1y
we use dupont cromax.its not to bad just takes awhile to dry.better make sure your body techs get their bodywork right.this stuff is'nt that forgiving.i put solvent on my on project.could of had waterbourne for free,so what does that tell you.overall its not that bad,just have to change your mindset some.just my 2 cents.i use sata hvlp 3000.
whataberger   +1y
Edited: 3/30/2011 5:04:42 PM by whataberger

i too prefer solvent. i also use the lph400 to spray the stuff. its just a pain. we use the ppg enviro base. the wax and grease remover they provided during the switch sucked...if every drop wasnt dried when you sprayed base you could see where the drop evaporated from. but a nation wide switch is coming...its only a matter of time
Shane S   +1y
We're using the Vortex system from Martin Senour. I use a Sata 3000 to spray with. It takes longer to paint everything because of the dry time and I've noticed we get alot more dirt in the paint causing much more time spent buffing. We also have a really nice blowtherm downdraft paint booth. I could go on and on with complaints but im gonna save it for the paint reps! Hahaha!
mopar978   +1y