Page 1 of 2
Mazda Engine Performance \  Weber 32/36 vs. EFI for boost on 2.2L

Weber 32/36 vs. EFI for boost on 2.2L

Mazda Engine Performance Mazda Engine Mazda Tech
views 3897
replies 16
following 4

low_life77   +1y
Okay first off I'm a noob to the Mazda scene so bare with me. My plans are to turbo my stock 2.2L after I swap out for a MT. That being said I know that EFI is the way to go to make more power and run higher psi than I could with the Weber carb system. Although it will more than likely be a couple months before I have everything needed for boost.

My questions are A)
Would it be more beneficial to purchase the Weber 32/36 carb kit and run it until/if I purchase the fuel injection system? I have seen guys boost their motors with the Weber carb but have also been told that you will only be able to run about 5 psi unless you run an electric fuel pump, which I will be running anyways. This is also my daily at the time being. The reason I was considering purchasing the 32/36 is simple for improved fuel millage and more power/ditching the EGR crap.

And B)
If you think that I should just forget the Weber and do the EFI conversion (since I will eventually be boosting) for anyone that has done this or knows how to do this, what is all needed? Everything I have owned minus my 2stroke bikes have already been FI so I am not sure what all I need and don't need. I know that it is a must if I want to make more power and run higher psi. I'm assuming I will need parts from the 2.2 EFI non turbo/turbo motor from the MX-6/Probe (unless the b2200 comes fuel injected) like the: intake manifold, throttle body, fuel rail, injectors, fuel pressure regulator (probably an adjustable one with gauge) electronic fuel pump. But other than that I'm kinda lost

Would I need things like a new harness, ecu/ecm or fmu, mass air flow?(again not sure what the Mazda's require as fuel injected)