Page 2 of 2
Mazda Engine Performance \  Weber Carb Question?????/

Weber Carb Question?????/

Mazda Engine Performance Mazda Engine Mazda Tech
views 5207
replies 18
following 4

dvsdev   +1y
Hmm... I would've run splitter before the fuel pressure regulator myself, pump pushes against the reg, which reduces flow, causing a buildup of pressure between the pump and reg, then excess fuel goes back to tank, reduced fuel pressure goes to carb.
But, I'm not a mechanic so it's just what I would've done to ensure the pump doesn't have too much pressure against it.

Oh, and I'd put the filter before the splitter and reg, this way only "clean" fuel returns to the tank and won't build up any blockages inside the regulator.
burtandurny101   +1y
HMMMMM. You make a TON of sense!

I did wonder about the filter after the reg thing, but honestly it was a last second throw together thing; there is already a filter in the line by the tank.

I still got some more tubing, so i'll hook that up tomorrow. will need some 1/4 inch though and a 3/8 in convert dingus.

SO,
Fuel-In to Filter
Filter to Splitter
Splitter to Check Valve/Return
Splitter to FPR
FPR to Carb

Or should i put the Filter between the FPR and splitter?

Thanks a million!

-Burt
dvsdev   +1y
I'd go with the filter before everything, I'm pretty sure that the FPR is a diaphragm inside, so it might be ok now, but in a couple of years time it could slowly build up a bit of junk inside, the filter can be whipped out and replaced pretty easy, the FPR probably isn't too user friendly for strip down and repair.
Oh, as for PSI, I have a Holly type FPR with a gauge but I set my pressure to 2PSI and no problems yet, if you run out of gas at high revs or extended highway cruising its probably your float level (not that you say that's a problem, just for anyone else reading this post)
burtandurny101   +1y
I ran around yesterday with my original fuel plumbing; at high RPM it ran out of gas and bogged down hard!