Page 3 of 54
Mazda Projects \  B2000 drift truck build

B2000 drift truck build

Mazda Projects
views 178261
replies 537
following 73

slowroller   +1y
Forgot to mention. Motor is getting stripped of everything it doesnt need.

No EGR, compressor or vacuum stuff. Engine bay is also getting the same treatment. Wire tuck If I had the time.
slowroller   +1y
Anyone see any problem with solid aluminum motor mounts?

Im thinking Ill make them from 1/4" aluminum tomorrow if I have enough time.

I know It will translate any vibration into the cab, But im more concerned with breakage. Guess ill find out.
blazerpimp   +1y
aluminum is brittle
jimbeater   +1y
nice project. will be following this one!
slowroller   +1y

Ya it can be brittle if it is allowed to flex. I do fabrication for a living and Im going to try it out. There will be no middle piece that is usually the rubber isolator. The aluminum mount that is mounted to the block will be bolted directly to the steel mount on the frame.

Its all about the design.

If it ever fails ill be sure to let everyone know. My only concern is if I mount the motor and trans solid frame flex could crack the tranny.
slowroller   +1y
Re did my leaf packs and got 3 inches of drop. Overload leaf on top and 2 smaller flatter suzuki samurai leafs underneath. Ill be making 3 inch blocks soon.

I want the frame 5 inches off the ground, the height of a coke can. Plenty of clearance for speed bumps.

Got the cab off all by my self. what a pain in the ass.

thread post photo

motor is going to fit quite nicely, shifter will be about 2 inches further back. may have to move the shifter hole.

thread post photo

thread post photo
v8mazda4ever   +1y
One whats the motor out of a truck or 240 and if the 240 what year looks like a single over head cam than a twin cam.