Page 1 of 1
Mazda Engine Performance \  General Engine Upgrades

General Engine Upgrades

Mazda Engine Performance Mazda Engine Mazda Tech
views 1266
replies 9
following 8

scotty1736   +1y
Hey guys I am new to this website and reasonably new to my '92 B2200 which i have owned for about 2 months, it's a 5 speed manual base model and it's certainly grown on me since I bought it, I have however been questioning after adding an HKS super power flow intake if there were any other cheap upgrades I could make to improve engine performance and fuel economy at a lower end cost or if I should stick with what I have as I am a starting auto service tech, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
chaserjohndoe   +1y
is your truck carbed or fuel injected?
scotty1736   +1y
Fuel Injected
mazdatweaker_2   +1y
Fuel injected models are already maximizing fuel atomization. You might just run a fuel system service and replace the O2 sensor if that hasn't already been done.
scotty1736   +1y
Thanks for the quick responses and input I'll look into the possibility of servicing the fuel system, I have yet to try out my new air intake on the highway but the last time I was out there running stock I wasn't quite getting the power or responsiveness I felt the truck needed so hopefully I've gotten somewhere with that upgrade (as it was also a gift from a friend)
hab3rstock   +1y
Possibly finding a good performance chip can help out quite a bit. Head over to lordco or your favourite parts dealer and see what they got for a reasonable price
befarrer   +1y
Nothing helps quite like a good tune up, & check timing.