Vibration between 25-30 mph

Dually Engine Dually Tech
views 3411
replies 22
following 9

big bear   +1y
glad ur up and running
someotherguy   +1y
That joint might be toast from bad driveline angle so I wouldn't write off that research just yet.

Richard
dzl1   +1y
Ok so going by your previous post, you did 3 degrees for both front and rear. My question is how would you go about measuring that? Also is 3 degrees the correct angle? Thanks for all your help.

DZL1.
someotherguy   +1y
I'll tell you right up front I'm no expert on this subject, I know enough to be dangerous I guess it's a subject that should be simple but if you do some reading around the net you will find dozens of different opinions on how it should be set up, how it should be measured, blah blah. My suggestion would be to do some googling on it and try to form a concensus from some of the info.

Just remember that correct angle will vary depending on application - leaf sprung rears wrap up under acceleration way more than somebody who's 4 linked, so leafs need more angle. A lot of the driveline angle discussions out there are aimed at racers so if you're reading an article that doesn't elaborate which setup they're discussing maybe move on to another with better info.

Not trying to cop-out on the answer but some of the intricacies of it are over my head and I don't want to give you bad info, mostly just trying to warn you that if you're experiencing vibration and busted U-joints, the U-joint may have broken because of bad driveline angle (not enough, in the case of most lowered vehicles).

Richard
dzl1   +1y
Ok thanks for making me aware of this possibility. I will research this. I appreciate your time amd help.

DZL1.
someotherguy   +1y
No prob...wish I could explain it more eloquently but I've already told you everything I know on the subject.