threads
Page 1 of 3
Body work and Paint \  Painting in your own Garage...

Painting in your own Garage...

Body work and Paint Q & A
views 5698
replies 29
following 28

artsar   +1y
I am tossing around the idea of painting my car in my Garage myself (my painter friend may help is I beg enough) but I was wondering if anyone has some tips to have the best end result for painting in the Garage. I have some experience in a body shop and doing body work on various cars but it is quite limited. (4 months of Co-op in a body shop and 4 years of random garage jobs)

I just figure it would be better to spend the money on tools and have the paint suffer a bit then to get a perfect paint job on a DD.

Thanks
slammedcivicsi   +1y
thats like saying, "Why go out for dinner at that nice resturaunt when I can buy the pots and pans, and make that souffle myself"

Unfortunatly sometimes there are things that we cant do in our garage.

Yes I paint for a living, and yes I do occasionally paint in my garage. But when it comes to a complete paintjob in your home garage, thats a lot of material to spend on something that is still going to look kinda half assed. Spray booths were designed for a reason, and its not only to keep neighbours from calling the cops due to you painting in your garage over the christmas holidays, but they are also for keeping paintjobs clean from dust, and debris. Not to say that some polishing cant correct that issue, but how much time are you willing to invest.