Page 1 of 1
Mazda Engine Swaps \  1990 B2200 Carbureted Engine swaps

1990 B2200 Carbureted Engine swaps

Mazda Engine Swaps Mazda Engine Mazda Tech
views 2716
replies 5
following 5

mitch4522   +1y
Hello, Im new to this and i was wondering what engines are the easiest to put in my b2200. I am 16 years old and looked around but cant get any straight answers. It only has 85hp and i was looking for something that would be a direct fit without having to change the mounts and do too many modifications. Ive heard the f2t engine fits but requires some mods. Ilike those motors but could someone explain to me in detail what exactly i have to do for this or what other engines that could fit to give me more power? Thanks.
befarrer   +1y
I'm no expert, but if you have the desire to stay carburated, then a V8 carb swap will be the easiest, and it is by no means a bolt in swap. There are some bolt in swaps, but require you to make your truck an EFI truck, which involves a decent amount of wiring, as any motor that bolts in, is only available EFI, and therefore no carb intake manifolds fit.
dealwithit   +1y
if you want to stay carbed to in a sense "keep it simple" then a domestic v8 or v6 would be your best bet. the ford 302/5.0L fits in ok, but does require some fab for the exhaust, driveshaft, trans mount, clutch (if you go t5), and the rad doesnt fit in the normal spot if you dont get the short waterpump/front housing from a 94/95 mustang. now for a v6 you could always grab a ford 3.8L from a stang with the trans as well, or a chevy 4.3 from a 2wd s10 with the matching trans. im sure theres other options but those off the top of my head would probably be the easiest and most available options around you.
mitch4522   +1y

I like the idea of the S10 one just because i'm in a gm family but what would i have to do to get a v6 s10 engine in?
sincitylocal   +1y