Page 1 of 1
Dually Engine \  2000 454 Oil Pressure?

2000 454 Oil Pressure?

Dually Engine Dually Tech
views 7927
replies 9
following 4

psychosurfer   +1y
Hey everyone, I am new to the dually scene and have a 2000 c3500 with a 454/auto and 115,000 miles. The oil pressure seems low (on the gauge). Cold idle it's around 40-45, cold idle around 20ish and aroun 30-35 at 2k rpm... Does this seem right? There are no drive issues at this time.
rushnbobo   +1y
That seems about right for that many miles, oil pressure is also be affected by viscosity/weight being used, and how many miles between last oil change.
circuitguy   +1y
Sounds normal. What kind and weight of oil are you running?
psychosurfer   +1y
Running 5w30, and changed it last night. There was no detectable pressure change before or after. I run 5w30 per factory fill, but am open to suggestions particularly due to the mileage. What are you running?
someotherguy   +1y
My bazillion mile Vortec 7.4 seems to run higher pressure than that; it's showing around 40 on hot idle (assuming your typo means you're running 20ish on hot idle? You typed cold idle twice) and bumps to 60+ when I give it any decent amount of throttle.

I'm usually running 10w40 or 15w40...mostly due to lots of hard miles on it.

Richard
circuitguy   +1y
With over 100K miles on it you should be running 20w50 in that. 5w30 is very thin, a good break in oil but not good for a motor with some wear. You can always change the pressure sensor if needed and the oil pump too not expensive to do both. You can remove the oil pan easy in your truck as there is so much room. Don’t even have to lift the engine, one of the easiest to do.
rushnbobo   +1y