threads
Page 1 of 2
Dually Engine \  Need new muffler what do you suggest?

Need new muffler what do you suggest?

Dually Engine Dually Tech
views 1984
replies 10
following 7

krewzlo   +1y
It is getting time to replace my stock muffler. I want something that doesn't need a bunch of work to install as i hate doin exhaust work. Nothing too loud but better performance would be a plus. I dont have cats on it and i tow heavy trailers all the time too.

What do you suggest?
tuckin22   +1y
You didnt say what motor but I think I remember you saying a while back 454.

I have a flowmaster 50 hd series I think and "no cats" and it sounds alright its not to terribly loud and has a kind of low rumble to it.
luv2xclr8   +1y
I installed exhaust for a few years
part time and I prefer Magnaflow's
vs. Flowmaster's. (Less cabin hum)
big bear   +1y
yup, im a magnaflow guy.
got6wls   +1y
On my 454 I have WickedFlo's, they sound really HotRodesque at idle and just puttin around, when you put your foot into it, it opens up BWAAAA. To me this is the sound a BBC should have. I have had Magna and FM but these made me change. Also FloPro are a good choice. Again its your truck, you'll find your sound. Good luck
krewzlo   +1y
Thanks guys, I have tried looking on flowmaster and magna flow and they don't list one that will fit. Mine is dual 2 3/4 in and single 3" out. I can't do duals out as I just don't have room for another pipe above the axle.

I really like the (lack of) sound of the stock muffler. I do appreciate a good sounding loud exhaust but just isn't my cup of tea. I don't like to hear it inside the cab. I drive long distances and that is the last thing I want to hear the whole time is a rumble that makes my teeth rattle.

Yes my truck is a 2000 with a 454. Originally had duals all the way back to the the muffler then exited with 1 3". Had dual cats as well until one of them went bad.
big bear   +1y