Mazda 2.6L \  The "notorious" B2600i engine

The "notorious" B2600i engine

Mazda 2.6L Mazda Engine Mazda Tech
views 3373
replies 21
following 8

supratreo   +1y
guess i'll post here too.

i was a toyota mechanic for 10 years and LOVE my toyota's including the 22re's. i have owned my 2600 for a couple years and ita a good truck but after everything i have been through with this truck i would rather have a toyota. one thing i really don't like about these trucks is the lack of aftermarket support, also, they are hard to come by in my area for used parts too. toyotas are a dime a dozen.

when i first bought it, it needed a dist. as the CPS was bad and that part by itself cant be replace. then my evaporator started to leak and i had to get a new one but it was semi universal which means i'm going to have to make it fit.
i've also rebuilt the motor at which point i put new pistons and valves in along with lifters (not cheap!!)
there is a TON of other stuff i've done just because i like having good reliable cars but most recently it blew a head gasket, not sure why but it was an easy fix. unfortunately when i pulled the head off i noticed a small crack near a valve seat in another cylinder (didn't leak) but i decided to get a new head.

but i will say, when it ran it ran great and did a lot of work for me.
if anyone wants to buy my old head let me know, machine shop said it can be fixed
91extcab   +1y
I've got code to 330,000 miles on my g6. Still the original Trans and motor, still runs, but it's been sitting a long time.
supratreo   +1y
the odo on mine says 225k and its in GREAT condition, its just the little problems i keep having is whats irritating. i wish they made this motor a little simpler like the 22r, no HLA or balance shafts, things like that. i think i've just had to dump too much money into this truck. but like i said, when it runs, it runs great.
anguswilly   +1y