Page 1 of 2
Air Ride Suspensions \  Please help me fix this 4 link

Please help me fix this 4 link

Air Ride Suspensions Q & A
views 1332
replies 10
following 8

kaoss   +1y
This is a truck that I was working on for a friend. He got a stripper pregnant and lost interest in the build. I was told to get it rolling, and that he wasn't going to buy any parts for it. I set up the 4 link with what I had left, and he put the truck up for sale for dirt cheap.

Guess who bought it?

My other good friend, so now I really need to fix this. Tell me what you think, and what needs to be done. The upper bars need to be moved up, and those link bar ends need to be level. The upper bars hit the frame when the truck is lifted. Let me know what you think!

So some ideas we have.

1. run some tubing from the frame to cross member, shorten and hang the bars from that. 2. Swap to a wish bone. Not sure if we can get the instant center correct and enough triangulation.
///RELAXED 720   +1y
im NO EXPERT by any means but it looks to me like the front upper bar mounts need to come up. The side looks make it appear the IC in right near the back of the cab, it should be somehwere near the bumper (if I remember correctly). Moving the front upper bar mounts up would help in clearly the frame also... Now I could be completely wrong also it has happened before lol .......
kaoss   +1y
You're right, just looking for ideas on how to do raise them up. Tabs aren't the answer any more. I'm thinking some miter cut 2x2 from the frame to the cross member.
draggindakota   +1y
Yeah, shorten the uppers and raise them to mount some tubing from the frame to the x-member. I think round tubing would flow better with the bridge work than 2x2 though.
crux131   +1y
Why not shorten the lower bars slightly, and move their mounting point down lower on the crossmember?