threads
Page 1 of 1
Audio/Video \  Alarm Glitch Help (car won't start)

Alarm Glitch Help (car won't start)

Audio/Video Q & A
views 1708
replies 8
following 7

artsar   +1y
So this happens from time to time but recently its been happing a lot. For the past 3 days I have had to spend 1.5hours trying to start my car because of an ignition lock issue.

I had a cheap alarm added to my car about 4 years ago and in the cold it goes into an anti theft mode. I put the key in and when I turn it a light flashes on my dash letting me know it won't start. Once the light stops flashing I can usually just take the key out and try again and it works, but because of the intence cold where I life it hasn't even let me do that.

I was told by our local stereo installer (futureshop... yes thats all we have) that its because I do not have a remote start in the car. Their fix is to install a new alarm system with remote start, but its $400 and I am a student, so money is tight. My question is does the remote start really seem like a possible problem to this issue? I am willing to get it all installed but ONLY if it solves my issue 100%...

Its on my 05 Saturn Ion Sedan

Thanks

Adam
drpitlo   +1y
I know on older remote starts/alarms they needed to use a chip out of the key (if you have a chipped key which im sure you do) to bypass the antitheft. but on an alarm system you shouldnt need that. When you disarm the system it should turn the factory security system off. To me it sounds like the alarm is getting outdated and it would be time to upgrade or take it out. Its your call and hope some of this info will help
h8rstyle   +1y