Page 1 of 2
Audio/Video \  How to mold plastic interior pieces

How to mold plastic interior pieces

Audio/Video Q & A
views 1938
replies 14
following 14

AON-4PumpedCL   +1y
I have a plastic dash piece that has a double DIN opening that I want to make a little smaller to fit my deck properly. I'd like to cut the edges off the opening and space them in about 1/2". What is the best product to use for gluing it all back together and bodyworking it to be painted?

Thank you,Aaron
Uncle Fester   +1y
Depending how it looks you could either fiberglass it or use a panel bond. If you choose panel bond I got some left and the special gun that is needed. I am a novice at this so I am positive there are better ways to do what you want. Good luck.
IMLOWER   +1y
fester fiberglass doesnt stick to plastic itll seperate after a while best bet is panel bond or plastic weld
ahab   +1y
You should ask your own club members before you post it on SSM. Talk to pete. He has panel bond at work. Thats the best way to do it. Ive done it with fiberglass and it comes apart like Potter said. You could also glue the trim ring for your double din into the dash panel to make it nice and clean. Let me know if you dont have a trim piece I think I have a couple.
AON-4PumpedCL   +1y
--------------------------------------------

ahab said:

You should ask your own club members before you post it on SSM. Talk to pete. He has panel bond at work. Thats the best way to do it. Ive done it with fiberglass and it comes apart like Potter said. You could also glue the trim ring for your double din into the dash panel to make it nice and clean. Let me know if you dont have a trim piece I think I have a couple.

--------------------------------------------