Page 1 of 2
Audio/Video \  amp issues

amp issues

Audio/Video Q & A
views 1783
replies 15
following 6

unhallowed1   +1y
back in may when i graduated highschool i dropped a good bit of my money on a system for my truck.  i used a power acoustik 1440w amp and 2 power acoustik 10s. i wired it up and it done good for about a month and a half and then the amp stopped working. it went into protect mode and i can't get it to come on.  i've checked all the wiring, checked and changed my grounds. i just don't see what the problem is. any help? i'd reeeeeally appreciate it.

overkillFFF   +1y

usually protect mode is for thermal overload, there may have been some damage doone to the reset device inside.

unhallowed1   +1y

it did happen on a summer day. but the thing is it wasn't turned up AT ALL when it quit. i hit a small pothole at the end of my road and that was all she wrote.

ShakinPlates   +1y
Sounds like something got knocked loose in the amp. Take or send it back for warranty.. Thats your only hope at this point.

nvrdunizu   +1y

check your subs to see if the wires are touching or maybe even a blown sub

redspowerjams   +1y

RCA jacks can go bad an make the amp fault into protect. un plug the RCA jacks from the amp and then turn it on.  if that dont work then do the same thing with the wires to your subs. if that dont work then it's your amp.

shaggy_ky2001   +1y

ok here what i can tell you. either a sub has been blown and caused the amp to go into protect. the ohm load caused it. maybe a wire could have come loose over that month, causing the problem you are having.. from what i see everyday, i would lean alot towards bad amp,ohm load to low. how do you have this wired up.

unhallowed1   +1y