threads
Page 1 of 3
Mazda Projects \  1984 B2000 REJUVENATION PROJECT!...?

1984 B2000 REJUVENATION PROJECT!...?

Mazda Projects
views 5712
replies 23
following 9

gellman1969   +1y
Hey guys first post here

Have browsed the B Scene for a while now and just last week finally got one of these little trucks!

Picked up this 1984 B2000 for $600 off a guy just outside the city.

222,000 kms. I am the 3rd owner. PO had it for 6 years (he had bought off the original owner who had stored it for 10 years in his garage)

It starts, runs, idles, drives, stops without any problems so i thought hey why not?

Now I need your advice!

Have been driving it all over the past week and noticed it was burning some serious oil.. upon first start and while on the gas.. seems to me a combo of valve guides/seals and worn piston rings..

its not pulling very hard you can tell the engine is tired so i thought i would take it upon myself to pull the engine and give it a refresh.

I've never done this before but I have been wanting to for a while now so I'm excited to do it and learn something new. (have only ever worked on motorcycles)

After i had decided i was going to do this i noticed the frame is badly rusted out where the rear right side suspension connects! there are some other slightly rusted spots on the frame but the one in the photos is the worst of them

So what I'm now wondering:

A. Pull and rebuild engine / weld & patch rusted frame section ?

B. pull and rebuild engine / find a replacement frame ?

C. Ride it into the ground and part it out?

D. find a new truck and part this one out now?

....P.s. i also dont know how to weld but I would like to learn.. would this be an ok platform to learn on? hahah

thread post photo

thread post photo

thread post photo

thread post photo

thread post photo

thread post photo

thread post photo

thread post photo

thread post photo

thread post photo

And heres the Rusted frame section

thread post photo

thread post photo