threads
Page 1 of 3
Mazda 2.6L \  High Idle @ Cold Start (~3k)

High Idle @ Cold Start (~3k)

Mazda 2.6L Mazda Engine Mazda Tech
views 9981
replies 21
following 5

jacob_tamblin   +1y
First off I'd like to say hello. My name's Jake and this is my first post on the bScene Forum. I just got my 92 B2600 EFI 2.6L and I love the truck. I do have a small problem.

When the truck is started it idles around 3k RPM's. Adjusting the idle screw doesn't change a thing. It does tend to smoke a little during these cold starts. I'm completely stumped. I did search but I could only find threads dealing with the carb'd version of my truck.

I would be grateful for any help with this as I am new to the B Series pickups.
91_2600i   +1y
There is an idle air control valve on the top of the throttle that regulates idle air - as it warms up, it allows less air to "Bypass" the throttle. In fact, Mazda calls it a Bypass valve. Yours is probably stuck wide open. They get gummed up over the years and will tend to stick.

Also, a bad engine coolant temperature probe will also cause idle problems. Does the idle ever come down once the engine warms up?

You can test each of the those two parts, but even if each tests OK doesn't guarantee that they're are not faulty.

IAC Valve:

Disconnect ISC valve electrical connector. Connect ohmmeter to ISC valve 2-wire connector. Measure resistance. See ISC RESISTANCE SPECIFICATIONS table. If resistance is not within specification, replace ISC valve.

thread post photo

Here is the procedure for the coolant temp probe. If you don't want to pull the probe and do the heated water thing, you can probably get a descent idea if there are any obvious problems by checking it still in the thermostat when you know the temp is in the neighborhood of 68 or 176.