threads
Page 1 of 1
Mazda 2.2L \  93 Carb. B2200 intermitent missfire/shutting off.

93 Carb. B2200 intermitent missfire/shutting off.

Mazda 2.2L Mazda Engine Mazda Tech
views 793
replies 9
following 1

yamahaFZ09er   +1y
Ok, First off, I have been lerking here as a nonmember for a while. This place has answered so many questions for me and for that i am truly gratefull. My problem is that I have not been able to resolve my issue, so I finally joined and am asking for the same great advice that you guys always seem to provide!

The truck is a 93 B2200 Carbureted. 144,xxx miles. I bought the truck in non running condition for a good deal. After playing with it and replacing the basics and doing a compresion test. Plugs, Wires, Cap, Rotor, Fuel filter, fuel pump, I finally got the truck to start. I drove it about 3 miles and it had an intermittent skip. Mainly under a load. After about 3 miles the truck died, and would not start back. This is with the factory carb. I am new to carburetors and had read horror stories about trying to adjust the stock Mikuni. So I replaced it with a brand new Weber 32/36 DGEV. After some adjusting and playing around with that, I got the truck started and it ran great. For about 2 weeks. Then all the original symptoms came back.

Now knowing that the fuel system and carb are new i decided to look at the mechanical timing. I tore the front of the engine off and the timing was dead on. However the belt was stretched significantly. I replaced the belt and both pullies. After the belt changed i made sure the distributoor was indexed properly to 9 oclock at TDC. After this the truck started, i set the base ignition timing to 6 degrees BTDC. The truck still had a small skip under load. Simply because parts are cheap, i changed the coil at this point and the problem continues.