threads
Page 1 of 1
Mazda 2.2L \  New guy!!! 93 b2200 carb. Won't start!!!!

New guy!!! 93 b2200 carb. Won't start!!!!

Mazda 2.2L Mazda Engine Mazda Tech
views 1031
replies 8
following 2

92awd4g63   +1y
I purchased a 93 b2200 with 143,509 miles. I paid $500 for it. It is in great condition both inside and out. It is a one owner vehicle. The guy told me it was running rough and then it just quite. He thought it jumped time. So I brought it home and verified the timing is good. I checked the compression and all cylinders are over 130psi. I then checked for spark and replaced the cap, rotor button, wires, and plugs. All plugs are sparking as they should. I then checked for fuel to the carb. I changed the fuel pump and fuel filter and its getting fuel to the carb. The problem is that it won't start even with starting fluid. Can anyone please help me get this thing running!?!?!?!? I have no experience with Mazda's or carburetors. Please help!!!!!
JCooper   +1y
Sounds like you have checked most everything and your on the right path. Did you double check firing order? Sounds simple enough but I've seen it cause many starting issues because it is simply overlooked. Also, did you ever take distributor out? could be a tooth off.
Found this, it may be helpful. http://www.mazdatrucking.com/B2200/B22TimeCheck.html
Post was last edited on Feb 24, 2016 07:02. This post has been edited 1 times.
92awd4g63   +1y
Thanks alot for the response! I was able to get it to start a couple days ago buy loosening the distributer bolt and pushing to full retarded. It started right up! Once it was warmed up I put the distributer back to the middle and it ran a little rough. When you give it throttle, it will bog, then pick up ok, and then basically die around 3000rpm. I drove it up the road and I have to drive it with my foot to the floor to make it go. Again, I have no experience with carburetors. Any ideas on where to go next?
Cusser   +1y