threads
Page 1 of 2
Body work and Paint \  Pitfalls of Shops & How can I better serve you.

Pitfalls of Shops & How can I better serve you.

Body work and Paint Q & A
views 872
replies 19
following 15

seanb   +1y
Edited: 10/25/2011 4:29:17 PM by seanb

I'd like to address a couple of things in general that's been brought up about some shops failing to perform up to expectations. I don't own my own shop but I am an independent contractor who's seen the workings of other shops. It's a tough, tough business... probably why I chose to be a hired gun instead.

1) Don't expect a killer, SEMA quality paint & airbrush job to get done in a month. Yes, I'm sure they said it could be done. Sometimes it hurts to tell the customer their project JUST CAN'T be done in the time they want. I'd rather be honest with you (and myself) and risk losing the work.

2) It seems to be standard procedure to take in any and all work regardless of the workload. When things get slow, there's always those "restoration" projects sitting around to work on.

3) Most shop's dirty little secret is that they use INCOMING deposits on work to pay for 'in-the-booth' work and payroll. It's a vicious cycle.

4) Most shop owners are well meaning and intend to get your work done but other work and interruptions stall their efforts. And they usually don't estimate their time or manage time very well.

I'm not trying to make excuses either but material costs have gone through the roof, customers seem to never appreciate you doing them favors, cutting them a deal, and overall the life of a shop owner is a daily fight to stay in business.

I'd love to see more (any) work from the SSM family come my way so tell what my problem is... Let me have it. Be honest (not mean). Thanks.

jrock   +1y