Page 1 of 3
Tools \  Looking into a Welder

Looking into a Welder

Tools Q & A
views 2054
replies 20
following 17

artsar   +1y
I looked through the tools section but maybe I missed it. I'm looking to get a good all around welder. Something that can handle frame and sheet metal work. I'd like to get a dually some time soon so I'd like the welder to handle frame work on that (I'm assuming that the guage on the frame is thicker then a 1/2 ton). I have some experience, but not much (maybe 2 hours) welding.

What would be a nice all around welder thats still cost effective?
FADE2BLK94   +1y
Good all around is a smaller size 220v model i.e. Lincoln 180, Hobart 180, or Miller 180. If you want to keep it on the cheaper level and be able to do just about anything with it. All of them great welders if you are not trying to run a shop where you are welding all day with it on heavy gauge steel.
SoloSpecialties   +1y

im a hobart man myself. i have a handler 187(220V) and it'll 5/16...which is WAY thicker then anything needed on a truck,even a dually. i have been using it for about 2 and a half years,with no problems(minus replacing gun). its done backhalfs,full frames,sheetmetal work,heavy trailer repair,TRAILER HOUSE repair haha. i put this bitch thru hell and couldnt be more satisfied for what i paid. the new model is also very nice,the handle 210..im thinkin of upgrading and sellin my 187 to my buddy since he wants it lol.
FADE2BLK94   +1y