Page 2 of 3
Ask A Pro \  Triangulated 4-Link

Triangulated 4-Link

Ask A Pro Q & A
views 1371
replies 24
following 13

co2yroc   +1y
do you know of a universal tri 4 link that i could buy and use. remember this is my first time so im trying to make it as easy as possible and thanks for the info
granth   +1y
no bolt ones that i know about, not to say theres not one. the whole idea behind a 4 link is to make it fit your ride specifically, so that your pinion angle doesnt change drastically. read the 4 link article that bio max has up in the suspension forum, as well as any other reliable sources you can find.

max actually recommended "tune to win" by carroll smitth, and i was also told to by "chassis engineering" by herb adams. both good books that cover a lot.
BioMax   +1y
72bumpside- You must have misunderstood my explanation of the wishbone 3-link. The issue is trying to fit the wishbone under the bed of a truck while keeping proper geometry. The tendency is for the novice to mount the single point high above the driveshaft on a cross-memberand low on the top of the rearend housing in order to keep things as low as possible. What that does is cause the wishbone to be higher in the front than the rear and 99% of the time the lower bars will not be positioned to have a foward facing instant center. You can see in the pic below what I am talking about. The bottom pic is an off-road truck that I built that has a properly positoned wishbone, you can see in that pi how much space a system like that can take up.

post photo
BioMax   +1y
cory- I would suggest looking at a Pete and Jake's type 4-link. They have generic systems that should work well enough for what you are doing and your experience. The geometry is built in and the brackets are easy enough to work with.
Forever Draggin   +1y
max, im havin a lil trouble trying to comprehend the point that you are trying to make on the correct way for a wishbone 3,