Page 1 of 2
Max Engine \  90 Mighty Max 2.4l strange idle problem

90 Mighty Max 2.4l strange idle problem

Max Engine Max Tech
views 9132
replies 12
following 7

havok121   +1y
Ok guys this is my first post on this forum so be kind...

I recently bought my 1990 2.4L and have noticed a couple of strange problems. I'm new to Mitsubishi engines in general and this old (I've had imports but Honda's, 94 Integra, and 99 Civic). I'm familiar with injection systems and squeezing every bit of HP out of these rides with tuning, exhaust, intake ect.., but the system on this Mighty Max is kinda weird to me. The MAF is a box in the cleaner, and the IAC valve is like nothing i've seen. To make matters worse the IAC costs like $300 for a replacement! Anyway, my problems...

I had some trouble with it bucking at low RPMs so I did the Sea Foam clean and complete ignition tune up (changed Dis. cap, rotor button, wires and plugs) and it rarely does that any more.

The truck fires right up, on the first or second crank, sweet, but sometimes it will idle low then rev up, then go back down so low I have to keep my foot in the gas to keep it running. It did this so consistently (for a week or so) that I adjusted the idle speed. This worked for a few days then the idle was too high, so now I'm going back and forth adjusting the idle speed up and down depending on what the truck wants to do. Aggravating to say the least. I would say its the IAC valve, but I don't want to drop $300 if its something else.

So my Questions to you guys..
Is the crazy idle a symptom of the IAC valve acting up?
If not what else could it be?
Is there any alternative IAC valves that will work but doesn't cost an arm and leg?
Is there any MAF sensors that will work to convert it to a "just before the throttle body" like i'm used to so i can install an air intake?
Where can I find performance parts online that will fit?

Thanks Guys and sorry the long post!
lush90   +1y