Page 1 of 1
Photography \  Question for the pro's- Photo Releases

Question for the pro's- Photo Releases

Photography Q & A
views 453
replies 2
following 3

scortboy   +1y
For all of you that shoot for magazines, websites, etc. Do you get releases on all your photoshoots or just from the models/people when they are involved? I am shooting alot of hot rod shows these days and might start setting up some feature shots but i want to know the legality basics before I do. I don't want to do a shoot them get slapped with a lawsuit because some guy doesn't like his feature and wants to sue me because I didn't have a release to submit pictures of his car to a magazine. And on a side note, if any of you (i.e. John Jackson) are ever in the DFW area doing a shoot and would mind having a rookie observer let me know. I'd love to see one of the pros at work in person.
Jance Customs   +1y

I'm not a pro but I've never had any issues with releasing my show coverage photos. If you are actually pulling someone aside to actually feature their vehicle, then I'm sure they wouldn't have a problem with your pictures. Some photographers have people sign a release form if it is going to be used for advertising purposes, but not always. Most people these days will ask for you to shoot their vehicle instead of asking you to stop taking pictures of it    
BabyYouWish   +1y