threads
Page 1 of 1
Full Size Truckin General \  Making a 350 Engine as Low Profile As Possible.

Making a 350 Engine as Low Profile As Possible.

Full Size Truckin General General Discussions
views 2116
replies 8
following 8

AON-4PumpedCL   +1y
As the subject states, I'm trying to make a carbureted 350ci engine as low profile as possible to fit under my hood. Does anyone have any advice on specific low rise manifolds, carburetors? Also heard that it might be best to convert it to fuel injected?? I'm new to domestic V8's. Thank you.
maz duh   +1y
If you are staying with a carb the factory intake manifolds are pretty much the lowes rise you are gonna get for an intake. A rochester carb will sit lower than a Holley does and you can get some pretty low profile breathers too. Proform makes a triangle shaped one with a foam element that is pretty low profile, some of the cake pan ones they have available are pretty short too

You could section a stock oil pan till its even with the bottom of your trans, you will have to mod the pickup and possibly widen the pan or add an oil cooler to regain you stock oil volume.
BK2LIFE   +1y
the best bet is what maz said, modify the oil pan, or buy a new oil pan already modded. moroso has good ones, as do milodon and many others.

the intake/carb your best bet is edelbrock dual plane intake. http://www.edelbrock.com/automotive_new/mc/manifolds/chevy/performer-sb.shtml

thats about the lowest intake your going to find, add a new carb and it looks good, sits low. the air-cleaner is where you're going to gain height back, but what i would do is add a carb hat, (some call it a supercharger hat) and add some tubing and place the air filter ina different location. http://www.smreperformance.com/procharger-low-profile-carb-hat.html

you can make a 350 sit lower than a 22r motor, you really should have no worries about that fitting under the hood of anything.