Page 1 of 1
Isuzu \  Isuzu Pup rookie questions

Isuzu Pup rookie questions

Isuzu Make Specific
views 1486
replies 7
following 4

maz duh   +1y
Here is the deal, I recently aquired a 92 Pup long bed to build for myself. I have worked on lots of trucks over the years so I'm not a rookie to the game but I have had no Isuzu experience at all. The second thing is the truck is currently stored away for the winter until I get some customer trucks looked after that are in my shop now. This means I don't have access to the truck to do any measuring or planning which sucks but I can gather info in the meantime at least. I have a few questions for the seasoned Isuzu enthusiasts to help me with some aspects of the build when I do get started on it

Can anyone give me a soild backspace measurement to use when wheel shopping? I'm looking to tuck with a stock width axle and stock front fenders and would like to run an 18x7 or 7.5 inch wheel. The truck will lay frame only, not body, and I will be switching it over to a 5 on 4.5 lug pattern using a toy axle and front hubs.

Has anyone managed to squeeze a 2600# bag up front in theirs? I know I will have to probably pocket the frame a bit but is it possible even then or is their simply not enough room?

My oil pan is almost even with the ground as it sits now(2.6 litre with the 2 piece oil pan) Is their room to section the sump section without having to modify the pickup tube?

Do the drop spindles widen out the track width on the front at all?

Thats all I have for now, any help would be appreciated. Thanx in advance
Uncle Fester   +1y
SpeedyLowz (think) is the resident zu guru. Hit him up for all your needs. Besides he is good peeps to chat with.
bjscustombillet   +1y
There would be plenty of room for a 2600 if you pocket the frame. You might run into problems with the strut rod tho. You can either remove it and triangulate the lower a-arm or modify the front mounting point.